Men's Tennis Releases 2017 Schedule

Men's Tennis Releases 2017 Schedule

PASADENA, Calif. (Aug. 30, 2016) – The Caltech men's tennis team has released its schedule for the 2017 season, which will include 13 home matches and five away matches in addition to the individual ITA Fall Regionals from Friday, Sept. 30-Sunday, Oct. 2 in Claremont and the Ojai Valley Tournament.

Schedule

The Beavers, which earned their first-ever national ranking in 2016 and will face seven opponents who were nationally ranked to end the year, open the season with a pair of home matches versus Biola University on Friday, Feb. 10 at 3 p.m. and No. 30 Brandeis University on Monday, Feb. 20 at 2 p.m. to begin a run of four straight nationally ranked opponents.  Following a 12-day hiatus, Caltech has a tough back-to-back weekend as Head Coach Mandy Gamble's squad opens SCIAC play at No. 6 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges on Saturday, Mar. 4 at 10 a.m. and No. 27 University of Mary Washington on Sunday, Mar. 5 at 2 p.m., which will be contested in Thousand Oaks.

The Beavers continue their home stand with six straight matches in Pasadena, including four in five days from Mar. 18-22.  No. 28 Christopher Newport University arrives on Tuesday, Mar. 7 before regional foe Hardin-Simmons University arrives for an 11 a.m. matchup on Saturday, Mar. 11.  With a week of rest, Caltech then welcomes Vassar College on Saturday, Mar. 18 at 2 p.m. to begin the busy five-day stretch, followed by the University of Puget Sound the next day, Colby College on Tuesday, Mar. 21and finally No. 37 Sewanee: The University of the South on Wednesday, Mar. 22, all at 11 a.m.

A lone road match at Cal Lutheran on Friday, Mar. 24 precedes another three in Pasadena, with regional foes UC Santa Cruz (Sunday, Mar. 26 11 a.m.) and Whitworth University (Tuesday, Mar. 28 10 a.m.) ahead of SCIAC rival Occidental College on Friday, Mar. 31 at 2 p.m.  Caltech enters the final month of the regular season with a pair of away matches at No. 9 Pomona-Pitzer Colleges on Saturday, Apr. 8 and Chapman University on Friday, Apr. 14.  The regular season concludes with a two-match home stand against No. 18 University of Redlands on Saturday, Apr. 15 at 10 a.m. and last year's fourth-place finisher in the SCIAC, Whittier College, at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Apr. 22, when the Beavers will celebrate both their Orange Out and Senior Day.

Gamble and the Beavers return to Ventura for the 117th Annual Ojai Valley Tournament from Friday, Apr. 28-Sunday, Apr. 30 before the SCIAC Championships the following weekend, which will be hosted by Pomona-Pitzer.

 

 

*All game dates, times and locations are subject to change

 
 

Follow and show support for your Caltech Beavers on Twitter (@CaltechBeavers), FacebookYouTube and Instagram!