Women's Water Polo Unveils 2019 Schedule

Women's Water Polo Unveils 2019 Schedule

PASADENA (Aug. 15, 2018) – The Caltech Women's Water Polo team has announced its schedule for the upcoming 2018 season. This year's slate will feature nine home matches including two against non-SCIAC opponents.

The Beavers will immediately enter SCIAC play on Feb. 27 when they host California Lutheran University for the season opener. From there, Caltech will play four games in two days at the annual Claremont Convergence tournament hosted between Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges and Pomona-Pitzer Colleges. The Convergence will take place on Friday, Mar. 1 and Saturday, Mar. 2.

Head Coach Jon Bonafede and the Beavers will next pivot towards what has become an annual showdown with Penn State Behrend on Tuesday, Mar. 5 at 7 p.m. Afterwards, Caltech will spend its next two games on the road in the SCIAC, first at CMS on Saturday, Mar. 9, then at Whittier College on Tuesday, Mar. 12. The Beavers will then play their final non-league match of the season when they host Connecticut College on Wednesday, Mar. 13 at 7 p.m. The women's water polo team will have another 7 p.m. the very next night when they host the University of La Verne and will travel to defending champion Pomona-Pitzer on Saturday, Mar. 16 for an 11 a.m. game. Caltech closes out the month of march with a two-and-two home and road split, beginning with Occidental College in Pasadena on Wednesday, Mar. 20 at 7 p.m. Last year, the Beavers came as close as ever to taking down the Tigers in Eagle Rock, but will have just one crack at their SCIAC neighbors in 2019 and will be looking to make it count. Caltech will follow up by hosting Chapman University on Saturday, Mar. 23 before hitting the road the following week with games against the University of Redlands and Cal Lutheran to end the month of March.

April features three home games, including the annual Senior Day clash, but before arriving there the Beavers will host CMS on Saturday, Apr. 6 at 11 a.m. before traveling to La Verne on Wednesday, Apr. 10. Caltech will then play host to the Sagehens on Saturday, Apr. 13 at 11 a.m. before drawing Whittier on Wednesday, Apr. 17 for Senior Day. The women's water polo team will close the 2019 season on the road at Chapman on Saturday, Apr. 20.

 

 

 

Follow and show support for your Caltech Beavers on Twitter (@CaltechBeavers), FacebookYouTube and Instagram!