Caltech Closes Year with Athletic Celebration

Caltech Closes Year with Athletic Celebration

PASADENA (May 22, 2018) – Caltech Athletics celebrated its Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet and inducted its fifth class of athletics alumni into the Hall of Honor on Sunday at the annual Athletic Celebration.

Photos: Noelle Davis

Director of APER Betsy Mitchell hosted the event and kicked things off with an opening monologue celebrating the achievements, both team and individual, within Caltech Athletics over the last academic year. Each and every team received due recognition for another year of growth both on and off the playing surface.

"Over my 25-year career in many aspects of education and sport, the most impactful stories are the ones remembered and shared, often long after the fact, by students and alumni who realize the transformative capacity of teamwork, mentoring, persistence, courageous risk-taking essential to growth and improvement, resiliency learned through failure and, yes, joy experienced through victory," Mitchell said. "To say that we have had yet another tremendous year is a bonafide understatement."

Alexis Johnson (BS '98) became the first member of this year's Hall of Honor class to be inducted, as a two-sport athlete and the Outstanding Athlete of her graduating class. From there, the inductions of three-time All-SCIAC water polo player and swimming record holder Eagle Jones (BS '01), three-time All-SCIAC soccer fullback and baseball outfielder Michael Keating (BS '88), three-time SCIAC champion wrestler Randy Lewis (BS '72), four-sport standout John Walsh (BS '60) and the 1931 undefeated SCIAC champion men's tennis team followed. The induction of legendary coach and administrator William L. "Fox" Stanton capped off the event.

Nine scholar-athlete awards were mixed into the event, starting with three senior scholar-athletes receiving recongition for their academic prowess. Alexander Bourzutschky (Potomac, Md. / Montgomery Blair) of swimming & diving and track & field received the men's distinction, while tennis senior Erin Wang (Auburn, Calif. / Del Oro) and water polo senior Devi Ganapathi (La Crescenta, Calif. / Crescenta Valley) tied for the women's award. The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee sportsmanship awards followed, with Ducey Award-winner David Kawashima (Studio City, Calif. / North Hollywood) of the men's basketball team and Vinci Chen (Austin, Texas / Westwood) of the women's tennis team earning recognition. Junior swimmer Brittany Percin (Lake Tahoe, Calif. / Stanford Online) then became Female Athlete of the Year on the heels of an appearance at the national meet back in March. Percin joined sophomore swimmer Thomas Gallup (Houston, Texas / Phillips Exeter Academy) at the meet, who became a two-time Male Athlete of the Year on Sunday for scoring at NCAA's for the second time in as many years. The final two honors, the Director's Awards, are annually given to senior male and female student-athletes who have participated for at least two years on an intercollegiate team and have made the greatest body of work contribution to Caltech athletics, both on and off the playing surface. Baseball's Garrett Levine (Columbus, Ohio / Columbus Academy) won the male Director's Award while women's soccer player and former cross country/track & field runner Caroline Atyeo (Parkland, Fla. / Marjory Stoneman Douglas) took home female honors.




Follow and show support for your Caltech Beavers on Twitter (@CaltechBeavers), FacebookYouTube and Instagram!