Men's Basketball Releases 2016-17 Schedule

Men's Basketball Releases 2016-17 Schedule

Photo by Michael Wong

PASADENA, Calif. (Aug. 2, 2016) – The Caltech men's basketball program has released its schedule for the upcoming 2016-17 winter season, which includes 14 home games and a pair of Division I exhibitions. The Beavers will tip off the year with their first exhibition at Big West member Long Beach State University on Saturday, Nov. 5 before a rematch of their first-ever Division I exhibition two years ago at Cal St. Fullerton on Friday, Nov. 11.

Schedule

The Beavers play nine non-conference games to open the season, beginning with a four-game home stand.  The third annual 110 Freeway Rivalry against Occidental College again serves as the home opener on Tuesday, Nov. 15 at 7 p.m.  The series is tied at 1-1, with Caltech having won last year's meeting, 86-77, to key a three-game sweep of the Tigers in 2015-16.

The Beavers continue the home stand against Oglethorpe University on Monday, Nov. 21 at 7 p.m.  Five days later, Caltech welcomes Wisconsin Lutheran College for a Saturday, Nov. 26 matchup at 5 p.m. and end the home stand vs. UC Santa Cruz on Saturday, Dec. 10 at 5 p.m.  The Beavers and Banana Slugs split last year's home-and-home series, with Caltech winning 58-50 in Pasadena.

During Winter break, the team travels to Oregon, where Caltech will play three games in as many days.  The trip opens against Linfield College on Wednesday, Dec. 14, followed by Pacific University on Thursday evening and Lewis & Clark College on Friday afternoon.  The Beavers will look to avenge their defeat to Linfield after holding a five-point halftime lead last season and improve on a nine-point defeat to Pacific in their last meeting in 2014-15.

To end non-conference play and the calendar year, the Beavers welcome Carthage College on Monday, Dec. 19 at 5 p.m. and Colorado College, which Caltech last faced over a decade ago, on Thursday, Dec. 29 at 3 p.m.

With the turn of the New Year, conference play begins in earnest with three matchups over five days, commencing with the annual Orange Out event at home against Whittier College on Tuesday, Jan. 3 at 7 p.m.  The Beavers turn right around to take on Oxy in Eagle Rock on Thursday, Jan. 5, then head to Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges on Saturday, Jan. 7.

Continuing into the following week, Caltech hosts two games against the University of Redlands on Thursday, Jan. 12 at 7 p.m. and California Lutheran University on Saturday, Jan. 14 at 4 p.m. – both opponents which the Beavers defeated at home last season.  Caltech returns to the road looking to avenge last year's season-ending defeat at Pomona-Pitzer Colleges on Thursday, Jan. 19, then heads to the University of La Verne on Saturday, Jan. 21.

A one-off home game against defending champion Chapman University highlights the following week on Thursday, Jan. 26 at 7 p.m.  The Beavers nearly made history in a nail-biting 64-62 defeat to the Panthers on last year's Senior Night.  Redlands welcomes the Beavers two days later, followed by home games vs. CMS on Thursday, Feb. 2 and Oxy on Saturday, Feb. 4, both at 7 p.m. 

Caltech then faces a pair of SCIAC Postseason Tournament teams in Whittier and Chapman on Tuesday, Feb. 7 and Saturday, Feb. 11 before a stretch run of games against La Verne, Pomona-Pitzer and Cal Lutheran, which all tied with Caltech for fifth place in the SCIAC at 7-9 last year.  The Leopards come to Pasadena on Thursday, Feb. 16 at 7 p.m., followed by the Sagehens for Senior Night on Saturday, Feb. 18 at 7 p.m., with the regular season ending on Tuesday, Feb. 21 in Thousand Oaks, where the Beavers rallied from a 19-point deficit to claim the victory last January.  Caltech will be eyeing its first-ever berth in the SCIAC Postseason Tournament, which takes place on Thursday, Feb. 23 and Saturday, Feb. 25.

 

*All game dates, times and locations are subject to change

 
 

Follow and show support for your Caltech Beavers on Twitter (@CaltechBeavers), FacebookYouTube and Instagram!