Nzeukou Named to All SCIAC Team

Nzeukou Named to All SCIAC Team

PASADENA, CA – In his final season at Caltech Brice Nzeukou was named to the SCAIC second-team all-conference squad on Monday afternoon.

The all-conference team is voted on by the league’s nine head coaches.

During the 2012 campaign the co-captain was asked to play numerous positions on the field but played primarily as a defender. Nzeukou played in all 19 games where he fired 13 total shots.

“Brice is a very unique and special player that symbolizes what Caltech athletics is about. His great leadership on and off the field help our team be the most competitive it has been in my tenure at Caltech,” head coach Rolo Uribe said. “Brice is a committed and hardworking player who motivates the team by his effort and attitude. This recognition symbolizes the amazing year he had on and off the field. He leaves a great legacy for others to follow.”

The native of Tuscon, AZ has played in the last 42 Beaver games; earning the starting nod 41 times. He scored six goals while assisting on two others during his tenure.

"Being a part of Caltech Soccer has meant so much to me.  It really is an honor to receive second-team all-SCIAC accolades, especially amid other talented candidates.  It feels great to be recognized for all of the hard work and dedication I have shown to the program,” Nzeukou said. “I did not do this alone; I can credit this honor to about 50 different people with whom I have played during my time here at Caltech."

He is the 57th different player in Caltech soccer history to earn all-conference honors. In 14 of the last 15 years of the season ending award, the Beavers had put at least one player on the all-conference team.

Nzeukou will graduate in June with a bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering.

Complete All SCIAC Men’s Soccer Team

Athlete of the Year – David Taylor, SR, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Newcomer of the Year – Jack Day, JR, Occidental College
Brine Award of Distinction – Reid Sakamoto, SR, Occidental College
First Team:
GK – Andreas Silva, JR, University of Redlands
D – Richie Marquez, JR, University of Redlands
D – Erik Munzer, SR, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
D – Jaison Kimura, SO, CMS
D – Brian Russell, JR, Whittier College
M – Robbie Hull, SR, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
M – Reid Sakamoto, SR, Occidental College
M – Gabe Ramirez, SR, University of Redlands
M – Adolfo Santos, SR, Whittier College
F – Srdan Jovanovic, SR, Whittier College
F – Harrison Doyle, SR, CMS
F – Raul Yepez, SR, California Lutheran University
F – Charles Izydorek, SO, University of Redlands
Second Team:
GK – Rollie Thayer, SR, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
D – Evan Keny-Guyer, JR, University of Redlands
D – Michael Stoddard, SO, Chapman University
D – Brice Nzeukou, SR, California Institute of Technology
D – Andrew Geenen, JR, University of La Verne
M – Matej Kustura, SO, University of Redlands
M – Arash Mahboubi, SO, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
M – Francis Maxwell, JR, Whittier College
M – Boston Kimmel, FR, Chapman University
F – Mauricio Alfonso, SR, Chapman University
F – Nathan Shekita, SO, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
F – Jared Bernstein, SR, CMS
F – Ben Murray, SR, Occidental College